DIY – Sleepsuit

Because I bought a yard and a half of the super soft pink material for the backing of my triangle quilt I had quite a bit of material leftover. After finishing the two bandana bibs I decided to make a little zippered sleep suit from that same soft material.

127G257_Default

I used this white Sherpa Sleep Suit from Carter’s brand as a pattern.

I put the Carter’s sleep suit inside-out onto the pink plush material and cut two rectangles the same size as the suit. I then traced along the arm holes on each side of the suit and cut the rectangles to match. To make the rounded shape for the neck on the front of the suit, I folded the front rectangle in half and cut the corner from one end so that both sides would  would be even. With that rectangle still folded I cut down the fold to make two even pieces for either side of the zipper.

92222-2-1

I bought a 22″ pink polyester zipper for the center front of the suit. I sewed the zipper face down onto the plush side of one of the front panels. I did the same with the other panel.

I folded and pinned the neckline and the armholes so that I could add a topstitch to stop the material from fraying.

I then placed the front and back panels plush sides facing each other and pinned them together. I stitched the shoulders together and then from under one armpit to the other. I tied off my ends and cut any excess material from the borders.

To finish the piece I used some scrap white binding around the neckline. I did this the same way that I did the binding on the quilt. The only difference is that I did spend some time folding the binding over to create a sort of ( v ) shape where the zipper starts.

IMG_6424-1 IMG_6425-1

الحمدلله


S
sig

3 thoughts on “DIY – Sleepsuit

  1. I love all your projects 🙂 super cute! I have a two month old baby now, if I had the time, I would try to do one of your projects ❤ God bless you ~ Elaine

Leave a Reply

