Al Thumamah – الثماما

Last month Y’s family came to stay with us here in Riyadh and one afternoon we took a drive out to the dessert in an area called al Thumamah.

We drove for awhile until finally we crossed the median to continue back in the direction that we came. Pulling off the road into the sand we parked the car at the bottom of a small dune and got out to walk.

The first thing that I noticed were camel tracks, one after another, continuing in lines. I looked up I saw a large beige camel off in the distance. Following Y and his niece we walked in her direction. As we got near something to our right moved. It was a tiny black baby camel that had been curled up in the sand. It stood shakily and began slowly walking towards its mother.


[THIS VIDEO CONTAINS MUSIC]

It may not seem like much, but it was a really beautiful thing to see and I’m glad that we took a few minutes to walk in their direction. Checking my photo album as we walked back, I laughed a bit. I had been talking a video of Y and his niece with the camel behind them, when suddenly I dropped the camera view to my feet. When I see something surprising or beautiful I want to see it with my own eyes, not through the screen of my phone or through the lens of my camera.  I think that is something that a lot of us forget to do these days. As much as I love to document things in my life through photos and videos, I don’t want to deprive myself of the actual experience.

d2c1e96e14ae43f2e8ebcb92d8dcc8b7

الحمدلله


S
sig

One thought on “Al Thumamah – الثماما

Leave a Reply

