Mail From Korea

Mail From Korea

During my last year of undergrad I met an amazing women. She was an exchange student from Korea and that year she became my best friend. We were together nearly everyday for that entire year of school. We took road trips, she came home with me and one time she even helped clean up the restaurant that my family used to own after closing.

I love her. She is someone who accepted me no matter what. She got to know me despite what she heard others say about me. She stood by me during one of the most difficult times of my life. Even now, as much as I have changed, she still treats me just the same as she always has.

I haven’t seen her since summer 2011, but we still chat here and there by WhatsApp/KakaoTalk. I miss her a lot.

When I got to my mom’s house during my trip to the USA I found a package sitting on my dresser. I picked it up and found that it was from my friend.Snapchat-20140804080136Snapchat-20140804074733

I opened up the box to find a large collection of face masks. Last time we talked I was telling her how I was having problems with my skin. What an amazing friend she is to remember that and send me something to try and help.
Snapchat-20140804080134
The masks are basically a sheet (I’ve seen some that look like paper and others that seem like a kind of transparent gel fiber) that is soaked in a “serum”. The sheet is applied to the face, left for 20 minutes and then removed. Whatever “serum” is left is meant to be rubbed in, not removed.

My friend sent me a huge variety from brands like The Face Shop, Etude House, Skinfood, Innisfree & Nature Republic.
Snapchat-20140804080131
There is a huge variety of these masks from aloe to zucchini and everything in between. Some are meant to tone, some to hydrate, some to firm, some to clarify There are toning masks, hydrating masks, firming masks, brightening masks, soothing masks and more.
20140813_112034
This is one of the masks from the box by Skinfood. It is a gel type mask called Thermal Water and is meant to hydrate and soften.
20140813_112045
“A thermal water-infused cooling hydrogel mask that hydrates and softens skin as it gradually melts over time. •Thermal Water Story : Since ancient times people bathed in water from the hot springs to relieve fatigue and soften skin.”

“To Use : Open the pouch and remove the film from the mask. Apply the mask to the face, and then remove after 20 to 30 minutes. For best results, use immediately after sun exposure or to soothe irritated skin. (Either side of the mask can be worn.”
20140813_112145
This mask came in two pieces. One for the top half of the face and one for the bottom half. It has holes for the eyes, nose and mouth.

They definitely aren’t the most attractive thing, but neither are mud masks, right? I definitely noticed a different in my skin and I’m looking forward to making this a weekly routine. It is important for us to take a little time to do these things for ourselves, not only to treat our skin but to relax and de-stress.

To my beautiful friend who sent me this wonderful gift, thank you, I love you and I miss you terribly. God willing we get the chance to meet again very soon.

الحمد لله‎


S
sig

Leave a Reply

