بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

I’ve made a lot of mistakes with friends in the past while I was trying to figure out my life. I did a lot of stupid things. I hurt a lot of people. I think only those very close to me are the only ones who really know how much I have changed and in what way.

“The secret of change is to focus all of your energy not on fighting the old, but on building the new.” -Socrates

Sure, you’ve probably noticed a few things…

I don’t put pictures of myself on Facebook.

I don’t approve requests from guys on my instagram.

I cover my body and my hair when I am in public.

I don’t socialize with members of the opposite sex.

There are also a lot of things that you probably don’t know…

large-2

My lifestyle might not be the same as your lifestyle, but please respect the fact that I am simply doing what I think is right.

Please, don’t think that I don’t care about you.

I have nothing against you.

I don’t dislike you or hate you.

This is just my life.

This is my religion.

These are my beliefs.

If you take these things personally, then you are undermining the effort that I am putting in to be a better person.

After three years I am still learning something new about myself and my religion everyday, but I just want you to think about how much I had to learn and how much I had to change in the beginning of my conversion to Islam. I was trying to learn things that people spend all of their childhood learning. I was trying to learn how to pray, how to be more modest in dress and in behavior, to read and understand a text from thousands of years ago and to be more respectful to myself and to those around me.

For those of you who have stuck by me, thank you. For those of you who have gone, thank you. However, there is one person I really want to apologize to.  You were there for me at my best and at my worst, but I think I underestimated you and I’m sorry. I’m sorry that I didn’t take time to explain. I’m sorry for anything that I did to hurt you. I just hope you know that I pray for you happiness always.

“Things change and friends leave and life doesn’t stop for anybody.”

الحمد لله‎


S
sig

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

