A Beautiful Surprise

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Thursday April 3, 2014

I woke up feeling sick and I almost didn’t go to work. I got out of bed, got dressed, prayed and put my things in my bag. I didn’t brush my hair or put on any makeup. I’m pretty sure my face showed that I hadn’t slept much. I went to my classroom and sat at my desk waiting to start the class.

The first section on Thursday is usually a writing class. I prepped the students and gave them their first draft of a short essay that they did earlier in the week. I walked around answering questions and helping them to edit their writing. One student asked to go to the bathroom. I nodded and she went out of the room. A couple minutes later another student asked the same and I let her go. I typically check my watch when someone leaves the classroom to make sure that they aren’t gone for more than 10 minutes.

I remember checking my watch and thinking it had been a while since the two girls had left. I even wrote their names in my notebook so that I would remember. Three students came up to the front of the class and said, “Teacher, we want to talk to you.” “What do you need?” “No, teacher, we want to talk to you outside.”

I agreed and they led me outside of the classroom to a small bench just around the corner from the door. While I was sitting I couldn’t see the door to the classroom, but I didn’t think anything of it at the time. The students began asking me 50 questions about the attendance. They seemed really concerned and by the end of the conversation I just told them not to worry and that we would figure something out. They agreed and began returning to the classroom.

When I reached the door all I could hear was loud laughter. I was ready to scold them as I entered the room, when I saw all of this on my desk:

IMG-20140403-WA0034
I could not believe what they had done. Cupcakes, juices, chips, chocolates, cookies and more all covered my desk. One student came to the front of the class and said, “Teacher, this is because we love you and because you came to Islam.”

I immediately started crying. I can’t explain why, but I just felt like this was such an amazing and beautiful gesture.
IMG-20140403-WA0033

IMG-20140403-WA0006

IMG-20140403-WA0011
On the cupcake platter the girls had written “We love you S..”

IMG-20140403-WA0012

I think something else that was complete surprising to me was the fact that this little “party” didn’t seem to be the typical ploy to make the teacher forget about class. After I saw all of the things on my desk the students went back to their seats and finished their writing. As they finished their writing they came to enjoy with me. During the break all of us stood at the front of the class talking and snacking. When the break was over they picked up the trash, cleaned off my desk and got ready for the second session.

سبحان الله SubhanAllah I almost didn’t go to work and I would have missed this beautiful surprise that my students had been planning for a couple of weeks. I will never forget this wonderful day.

الحمد لله


S
sig

2 thoughts on “A Beautiful Surprise

Leave a Reply

