Books

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

It has been a long time since I bought a book that wasn’t for school.

Yesterday I went to the mall with two of my colleagues and we spotted an Islamic bookstore as we were going to enter the market.

20140222_11055820140222_110549

I ended up buying two books.

The first is called Don’t Be Sad. It is over 450 pages and the intro states: “Don’t be sad is an important book for all. It is full of practical advice on how to repel despair and replace it with a pragmatic and ultimately satisfying Islamic outlook on life. It exposes to the modern reader how Islam teaches us to deal with the tests and tribulations of this world. This book, the culmination of deep and organized thought, says to you in short: ‘Be happy, at peace, and joyful; and don’t be sad.'” I plan to share beautiful saying from this book  as I read it.

IMG-20140222-WA0012

The second book is called The Sealed Nectar. It is a biography of Prophet Muhammad. It is over 550 pages and I’m really looking forward to reading it and finishing it, in sha Allah.

There was a bit of time when I was reading from my iPad, but I wasn’t doing it often and I think that was because it is simply not the same as opening a book. That moment of excitement followed by care as to not crack the spine too much. Turning pages and not realizing as they pass. Reading the last words of the last page and wishing it wasn’t the end.  I’m really hoping that these two books will bring back the love for reading that I used to have.

I had really forgotten how lovely it is to actually hold a book in your hands  feeling its weight and to turn the pages while noticing their thickness.

I’m ready to go back to the days of carrying a book in my bag to pass time instead of grabbing my cellphone in every empty moment.

الحمدلله

♥ S sig

5 thoughts on “Books

Leave a Reply

