Somali Tea

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Yesterday my colleague and friend M was awaiting her mom’s arrival from the UK. I decided to prepare a thermos of Arabic coffee along with a dish of dates and a couple of chocolates for them to have when they got back from the airport.

When I went up to drop it off she invited me in for a cup of tea. Another one of the girls from our building came up to join us as well.

M is from the UK, but she is originally from Somalia. I was excited to learn that she was actually preparing a Somali tea. I had no idea what it was going to be like, but she brought the spices for us to smell and I could recognize the scent of cloves.

I wish that I had taken a picture of the cup to show you, but I was too eager to enjoy it. I found this picture so that you can get an idea:
530977_312435948863057_1387320373_nIt was spicy, but sweet and a little creamy from the milk.
If you have had Chai before, I think you could compare it to that.

_MG_7828
I did a search online and found that it is made from a combination of black tea, cardamom, cinnamon, clove, ginger & nutmeg. Sugar and milk are added depending on taste.

Mmm…I think that I’m going to have to get the spices and try to make it myself or else go to visit M more often!

الحمدلله


S
sig

2 thoughts on “Somali Tea

Leave a Reply

