Princess Nora bint Abdulrahman University

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

جامعة الأميرة نورة بنت عبد الرحمن
Princess Nora bint Abdulrahman University
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

Work hours this week are short, only 8 am to half past 12 pm. Sunday was my first day of work. I woke up, got ready and left my apartment to go out to the bus. Once we arrived at the school I followed the other girls. They went through one building, then another, in an elevator and up some stairs until they finally stopped to “sign in”. One of the girls asked me if I knew what I was supposed to be doing and when I shook my head, she told me that she would walk me over to the HR office. She was kind and chatted with me as we walked. I spent most of my time there doing paperwork and meeting some of the other teachers. There are a few different recruitment companies working with the university so the office has a variety of girls coming and going. It was a good chance to meet some new friends and take some phone numbers.

 Monday I had the chance to wander around the massive campus with three of the girls from my company. First they took me to the A4 building to get a cup of coffee and a cheese croissant. The croissant was bigger than my hand, full of a delicious sharp cheddar and toasted to perfection. We ate, had a chat and then decided to take the campus train to the library and administration building at A9. It gave us a chance to enjoy the train and see a bit of the campus as we passed.

Princess-Nora-bint-Abdul-Rahman-University-Saudi-Arabia
↑This is the building for the library. It is absolutely massive.
1560463_396598480476438_219703786_n
©smyh
The design elements are fantastic and interesting. It’s size makes it even more intriguing.
1546304_396598520476434_1919971998_n
©smyh

This is what the inside of the building looks like if you stand in the middle and look up at the dome.
Everything around is elegant and modern, yet sprinkled with spectacular Arabic letters.
phuppimagelo
Here is just another example of how beautiful this building is. I feel like you could stand there for hours and hours and not be able to notice all of the tiny little details. There is stone, wood, metal, ceramic and endless glass.
We then walked out the back door of the library into the courtyard area before the administration building.
1557709_396598413809778_572767034_n
©smyh
Not all of the fountains were working, but there was a nice set of them in the middle splashing about. We stood around in this area for a while, just talking and enjoying the environment around us.
background

This is another view of the administration building. We were standing in the middle there.
196024

This is a bigger view of the two buildings together. They sit together nicely.
The interior of the buildings is beautiful, as is the grand exterior.
I’m so looking forward to seeing more of the campus and getting to know some of the other girls better. They are really what makes being here alone less unnerving, because they have been through it all before and are totally willing share their experiences and insights. It is really a blessing to have such support, especially in the very beginning of this new life.

الحمدلله


S
cropped-untitled-11.jpg

Leave a Reply

