Just Pray

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Alhamdullah for the beautiful religion of Islam. On July 17, 2011 at about 4 am, I said my Shahada:
أشهد أن لا إله إلاَّ الله و أشهد أن محمد رسول الله
[Ash-hadu an laa ilaaha il-la-l-laah wa ash-hadu anna Muhammadan rasulul-laah]
I bear witness that there is no god but Allah, and I bear witness that Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah.

I can’t explain my feeling in that very moment, but I will never forget it. I will never forget the first time those words formed in my mouth, rolling off my tongue and out my lips. I will never forget the first time I set my forehead on the floor in prostration during prayer.

At the same time, becoming a new muslim requires learning so many things. It is not an easy task, but just remember that even if you make mistakes God knows what is in your heart.

A really difficult part of being a new muslim is learning to pray. I know that it took me a long time to feel comfortable in my prayer. Luckily, there are a lot of great references out there. Here is an extremely helpful video that provides a “step by step guide to Salah”.

I made index cards with the Arabic transliteration of what needs to be said during prayer, along with the English translation and it helped me so much to memorize. I would hold them during prayer and I would read them until I could remember parts without looking. I still use this method when I want to memorize a new Surah.
firstpp secondpp
The one on the left is a piece of paper that I used the first time that I prayer. It just had a few things written on it. The picture on the left if of the cards that I used to learn the prayer more fully.  I still have the word document for the prayer cards and I am more than happy to share it.


S
cropped-untitled-11.jpg

One thought on “Just Pray

Leave a Reply

